VBL announces the 2008 League Awards

You can read the entire press release by heading over to www.valleyleaguebaseball.com.

Manager of the Year (Mo Weber Award)... Lawrence Nesselrodt (Waynesboro)
Player of the Year... Tyler Townsend (Winchester/ Flordia International)
Regular Season ERA Leader... Adam Liberatore (Waynesboro/ Tenn. Tech)
Championship MVP... Ryan Schimpf (Luray / LSU)
Regular Season Batting Champ... Tyler Townsend (Winchester/ Florida International) .387
15 Players were voted to the 1ST team All-VBL and due to a tie 16 players were named to the 2ND team. 31 Players made the list and the Press release from Kevin at the VBL office gives a complete breakdown of both squads...
The 3 starting pitchers named to the 1ST team are Travis Smink (Luray/VMI), Lance Baxter (Staunton/ South Alabama)) and Liberatore (Waynesboro/ Tenn. Tech). They were joined by relievers Shawn Griffith (Fauquier/ George Mason) and Tyler Thornburg (Winchester/ Charleston Southern).
The 10 posistion players named to the 1ST team were:
1B- Blake McDade (Staunton) (Middle Tenn. State
2B- Brandon Sizemore (Waynesboro) (C of C)
SS- Gabriel Saade (Waynesboro) (Duke)
3B- Mickey Wiswall (Winchester) (Boston College)
C- Marcus Nidiffer (Covington ) (Kentucky )
DH- Tyler Townsend (Winchester) (Florida International)
UT- Michael Precise (Harrisonburg) (Troy)
OF- Jeff Jefferson (Luray) (Liberty U.)
OF- Drew Johnson (Harrisonburg) (San Francisco)
OF- Max Most (Staunton) (Old Dominion)
The 10 position players named to the 2ND team were:

1B- Mike Marshall (Woodstock) (Stanford)
2B- Rico Noel (Covington) (Coastal Carolina )
SS- Adam McClain (Luray) (Memphis)
3B- Evan Webb (Waynesboro) (Tenn. Tech)
C- Bryan Izzo (Staunton) (Lincoln Memorial)
DH- Jeremy Cruz (Luray) (Stetson)
UT- Jesse Henry (Front Royal) (Shenanadoah)
OF- Kevin Dietrich (New Market) (UNC-Pembroke)
OF-Ryan Gauck (Fauquier) (Marist)
OF- Joe Agreste (Winchester) (West Virginia)
The All-Second Team pitching staff:
SP- Andy Altemus (Waynesboro) (Potomac State)
SP-Tucker Prior (Front Royal ) (North Florida)
SP-Drew Rucinski (Luray) (Ohio State)
SP- Taylor Hill (Winchester) (Vanderbilt)
RP-Jon Luke Jacobs (Fauquier) (Auburn)
RP-Daniel Gentzler (New Market) (Maryland)
I am sure that John Leonard will post the same info and there will be some lively banter at All Things Valley League. I welcome you to head over there and share your thoughts with the debaters but for now I would like to say Congrats to all 31 VBL players named to the post season awards team!!!

Popular posts from this blog